Stuart Rabinowitz Headshot

Stuart Rabinowitz


Hofstra University

Stuart Rabinowitz has served as the eighth president of Hofstra University since 2001. A member of the faculty of the Hofstra University Maurice A. Deane School of Law since 1972, he served as dean from 1989 through 2001.

Under his leadership, Hofstra has created several new schools, including the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell, the Hofstra/Northwell School of Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies, the Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, the Peter S. Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy and International Affairs, and the School of Health Professions and Human Services. He also founded the University’s National Center for Suburban Studies and the Center for Entrepreneurship. Hofstra is the only university in the U.S. to host three consecutive presidential debates (2008, 2012, 2016). President Rabinowitz serves on the board of directors of the LIA and as co-vice chair of the Long Island Regional Economic Development Council. He has received the Martin Luther King Living the Dream Award, EOC; Distinguished Service in the Cause of Justice, Legal Aid Society; UJA Federation Leadership Award; the Bar Association of Nassau County Proclamation for Outstanding Service to the legal profession and the community; the Conference of Jewish Organizations of Nassau County’s Community Service Award; the Alumni Association of the City College of New York’s 2005 Townsend Harris Medal; and Networking magazine’s David Award. He received the Chief Executive Leadership Award from CASE, District II, and in 2020 was named to City and State New York’s Higher Education Power 50 and Long Island Power 100 lists. Claflin University presented President Rabinowitz with the degree Doctor of Laws, honoris causa.
President Rabinowitz received a juris doctor, magna cum laude, from Columbia University School of Law.